Friday, December 10, 2010

Votto Wins Tip O'neill Award

     Etobicoke Ontario's Joey Votto was declared the "landslide winner" of the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame's Tip O'Neill trophy for his outstanding season in 2010.  A season for which he has already won the National League's MVP and Hank Aaron awards.  BC's Ryan Dempster was second in the voting posting 15 wins for the Cubs this year.  Third was 27 year old rookie John Axford from Simcoe Ontario, who took over the closing duties in Milwaukee and finished the season with 24 saves.

     The Tip O'Neill trophy is awarded by the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame each year to a Canadian player judged to have excelled in individual achievement and team contribution while adhering to baseball’s highest ideals.  Past winners include Larry Walker, Justin Morneau, Jason Bay, and Ryan Dempster to name a few.  The award is scheduled to be awarded to Votto on April 30, 2011 which is tentatively scheduled to be Joey Votto Bobblehead night at the Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati.

     Congratulations Joey, well deserved! 

     A Joey Votto bobble head night at the Great American Ballpark on April 30.  I think a road trip may be in order!


1 comment: